This is the "Home" page of the "(For Faculty) -- Using Permalinks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

(For Faculty) -- Using Permalinks   Tags: direct url, faculty, permalinks, staff  

How to place direct URLs within Blackboard or a website in order to direct students to specific full-text items located in various LRC databases.
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.odessa.edu/permalinks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Creating Permalinks for OC library's electronic resources

What are Permalinks?

Permalinks are static or permanent web addresses (URL) which point to a specific item such as an article or eBook.

Why use Permalinks?

If you copy a URL from the browser it usually contains more information than the direct link to the specific item.  Some databases also use URL's that change for each new search session even if you are looking up the same information. 

Will this link work off campus?

If the resource is an open resource yes it will work off campus — Example: the library's catalog.  A subscription database will not work off campus without authentication from a proxy server — Example: the library's eBooks, films, and article databases have a proxy server address on the main links.

What is the library's proxy server address?

The library's proxy server address is http://outlaw.odessa.edu:2048/login?url=. The address will be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. 
Example of a link from Films on Demand: http://outlaw.odessa.edu:2048/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8053&xtid=44504

Where do I find Permalinks?

Most databases will have a permalink somewhere in the record. Each database will post them in different ways and places. Click on the tabs above for instructions on where to find the permalinks for different library resources (EBSCO, Gale, Proquest, etc).

 

Library Hours

Fall/Spring Hours

Monday-Thursday 7:30am-9:30pm
Friday 7:30am-1:00pm
Sunday 2:00pm-5:00pm

 

 

 

Summer Hours

Monday-Thursday 7:30am - 9:00pm

Librarian

Profile Image
Patricia Quintero, MSLS
Logo - MSN
Contact Info
Odessa College LRC
201 W University
Odessa, TX 79764
Phone: 432-335-6644/6350
Fax: 432-335-6610
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip